645 words: mommy’s gotta eat

image

Suddenly I find myself a single mom for a few weeks and I am thrown by how much I have to do.

It got me thinking.

For the first time in what feels like years I had to cook for myself.

It was easy basic (my version) lasagne recipe I learnt way back in high school. Luckily most of what Mrs Jordaan (thank you miss) taught me is still up there.  So I did it!
I am nursing my six month old. Smartie pants doesn’t want to drink the weaning milk. Oh my soul! So I added a few extra veggie ingredients to my meaty base for extra vitamins and fibre.

Home Economics Lasagne recipe (adapted)

image

Ingredients

Half onion
Half green pepper / capsicum as it’s also known
Tsp of Olive oil
250g mince meat (use any kind you like)
2 tbsp Tomato paste
40ml water
S&P to taste

I blitzed mushrooms,  carrots and corn.

To get started I put all my ingredients on the counter anf filled the sink with soapy water as to wash up as I went to keep the work surfaces clean and clear.

Boil a kettle of water and add it to a large pot with a teaspoon of salt and oil. Bring it to the boil and add pasta enough for just you or the whole family. I never can judge pasta. I don’t use the lasagne sheets I usually use penne or screws.
Don’t judge.

Then I heated the oil in a pot.
I blitzed the onion and green pepper in the blender together with the large carrot. Added it to the hot oil and fried it till the aroma filled the kitchen. It’s looking glossy.

Then I added my mince meat. (I used beef but you can use lamb or ostrich or meat substitute.) No judgement.

Once the meat has browned add the tomato paste and half the water. Stir it through and season to taste with the S&P. (salt and pepper)

This is when I blitzed up the corn and mushrooms then added them to the pot.

Next up was the white sauce. If there is something I learned from Home Ec it was how to make a beautiful white sauce.
I don’t remember exact measurements but I am sure Mrs Jordaan won’t mind. She would be grateful someone took the class seriously. (I did miss)

Check your pasta it should be ready to drain.

image

Ingredients for the white sauce
Roux method
35g butter or margarine
2 tbsps Flour
500ml milk
S&P to taste

This requires your full attention or you will get lumps. I haven’t made a lumpy white sauce ever and if you follow these steps neither will you.

First melt the butter over a medium heat. Once completely melted add the flour and mix well with a wooden spoon. It will form a yellow ball. Take off the heat and add half the milk slowly. Now take the balloon whisk and stir to a smooth consistency. Replace it on the heat. Keep stirring as it thickens and adding milk. Don’t forget to add the S&P. Once you are happy with the thickness and consistency of the sauce remove the roux from the heat.

Add your pasta to your sauce. Mix through. Pour it into a ovenproof dish big that is deep enough. Pour over the white sauce evenly covering the whole dish. A good white sauce with find its way through the pasta.

Top with a delicious cheddar cheese and place in the oven at 180 degrees Celsius. I guess it’s 385 Fahrenheit. Gas mark 4.
Yes – oh la la. Look who’s been watching Jamie.

image

While the deconstructed lasagne is in the oven wash the dishes.

Take out of the oven after 20 minutes and serve with a lovely green salad. My favourite is usually rocket with pine nuts and balsamic vinegar.

Go on!  Dish up.

Posted from WordPress for Android 2015

You're reading my blog! You're one in a million

