Another life

Have you ever dreamt of being anyone other than yourself?

There are days where things get so bad that you feel like your bad hour has turned into a bad day, a bad week, a bad month. Normally this isn’t the case. I know even I have trouble taking my bad hour and seeing it for what it is. I normally go into overly dramatic mode. I hate my job! I hate my life! Why can’t I have long hair and Jessica Alba abs. Why didn’t I just go and follow my dreams and act. Like my mother will say… I wonder what would have happend, where you would have been had you not thought of me and gone and done that drama course.

I think about it too. But always when I wish I had another life.

This is where I’d not have been. I’d not have been in Cape Town falling inlove for the first time. I would not have learnt how a man should and shouldn’t treat a woman. I would not have found my own strength in exactly the same way or travelled Europe with the same convictions.

I would not have fallen inlove a second time and met the man I’m about to marry.

But I might have been healthier and wealthier and even better travelled.  Had a well furnished home and a ocean view flat.I might even have been famous. Not the kind of famous that prohibts one from going to the mall but the kind that gets you great roles and see you performing under the main lights.

Yea, in another life maybe.

But in this life I get to be loved and I now know I am accepted for who I am and not for what I have. I know that I want to write and that my writing makes a difference to at least one person everytime I put pen to paper. I don’t need to be famous or wealthy to be happy in this life.

I just need to be me on a daily basis. Being myself is the greatest gift I can give to family and friends and strangers who come into contact with me. To just remember that a bad hour can be controlled by me and the person that I am.

This is the life. My life. My only life.

One thought on “Another life

  1. Yes, it’s fun to dream of myself in some fantasy life, but when I really think about it, I love the life I’m living. It really is very fulfilling and interesting. I don’t think I could dream up a better life than the one I’ve lived so far (bumps and all). It’s the challenges and lessons that make the journey so interesting and memorable.

    Thanks for reminding me of that.

You're reading my blog! You're one in a million

